The Review of 2011 and Resolutions.

Well it’s another one of those recap posts where we review my year and state my resolutions and all that jazz that I’m sure y’all have heard at least a billion times, but it must be endured so away we go!  I can honestly say this year was a year of firsts for me. Started the year off with a bang, which is my birthday since it is in January, sorry no pictures from it.  I did my first half-marathon in April with my friends Hollikins and Justin:

We had a fabuloso time while in Plattsburgh, which is where the race was held.  My time wasn’t what I wanted,but it was a starting off point to improve upon.  Hollikins and Justin had great races! Because they are both running champs!

Not much else happened in the spring except for finals.  I can honestly say that my grades for last spring weren’t super duper amazing.  I came home and started working again.  First, it was just one job at Tj Maxx, then I added on lifeguarding, and finally swim lessons, which added a total of 3 jobs the entire summer.  I continued running and training throughout the summer.  I started swimming and biking also to prepare for my first triathlon (sprint).

It was a great race for my first Tri, and I got to do it with my Uncle.  It was nice having someone show me the ropes for my first Tri.  I can say this for my Uncle; he’s a badass dude.  He’s funny, smart, sweet, and is there for anyone.  He’s a police officer in Buffalo so he works a lot of odd hours.  The fact that he still finds time to train for a Tri every once and awhile and make time for his kids is amazing to me.  He’s a great uncle and I wouldn’t trade him for the world.  The best part of race day was him try to keep me calm and assure me that there was nothing to worry about when I think he was more worried about the race himself!

Here’s the finishing shirt from the race, and I can tell you I felt like a grade A badass the following day at swim lessons when all my students asked why I had numbers on my arms.  🙂

For anyone in the Albany area who is looking for starter Tri, this is definitely the one for you!

With August, shortly after my Tri came… dun.. dun.. dun… My stress fracture.  Thankfully, I’m a quick healer, and have a great (and hott) foot doctor who is a runner himself and therefore understands the needs of a runner.  It took an x-ray, and an MRI before it was spotted due to how thin it was.  It was in the 2nd metatarsal of my left foot.  It’s an injury that typically takes 4-6 weeks to heal.  Thankfully for me I’m a quick healer so it only took 4.  Here is a picture of the lovely boot (I referred to it as Das Boot) that I had to wear for a month.  The quote is my future tattoo…. hopefully.

All my conditioning and training were washed down the tubes with one silly injury, that to be honest, I brought on myself.  Anywho,  I came out of the cast, started running again and had a better season than last year even though it wasn’t what I had hoped for.  I ended the season on a good note, continuously bettering my PR’s throughout and eventually coming 3rd for the girl’s team overall through a series of luck and training. 

I pledged a sorority at the end of my cross-country season all the way up until Thanksgiving.  The process stunk (although not as bad as others, and no where NEAR hazing) and I wouldn’t trade my sisters for anything.

 Me with some of my sisters.  They are; Amanda, Danielle (a.k.a Captain), and Stevie.  Danielle and I became super close through pledging and I wouldn’t have had that otherwise.  I’m so glad for the opportunities this sisterhood has given me.  If for nothing else than at least for my Captain. 🙂

Finals and the continuous living in my second home the library came and went.  And along with it came unexpectedly good grades for the semester…….. well, I did work my butt off.  At the end of the semester there also came another injury. T his one to my knee, still don’t know what’s wrong, but it seems to be getting better so we will see.  My training calendar got filled up and finished;

A new one is in the making as you can see below:

 But, I’m getting sidetracked.  So back on our merry way! I came home, and it was Christmas time.  Yay for Christmas! I gave and got gifts.  The gifts I received were either gift cards or running related things (per request).  Also, I got a day hopper pass to Disneyland, for when I go to Florida for my spring break…. but that is for 2012.  Anywho, other than that it’s been working and spending time with family and friends.  And now to ring in the New Year with my Ne Ne and then work again the next day!

This post won’t be complete without resolutions, so here we go to wrap this up.

1. Work Out: I’m not just talking about more, or with more vigour.  I’m talking about doing it in a smart manner, learning to accept a balance, and just plain work out better.

2. Eat Better: Learn to not only eat better, but to learn to control random cravings, my binge eating times when I am sitting in front of the t.v. 

3. Get Back Into Shape:  Not only run, but swim, and bike in the hopes that my cross-training will prevent too many future injuries.

4. STUDY!  This is what I’m going to school for is it not? I did really well with disciplining myself in terms of schoolwork at the end of the semester, I’d like to start with that and keep it all the way through.

5.Life’s too easy to be so damn complicated;  It applies here also, I’m going to learn to let things slide off my back more, learn to smile when I don’t want to.  I’m going to learn to be happier, there’s a way to do that I think, well I hope. 

I’ll see you all in 2012! Until then, TTFN.

One thought on “The Review of 2011 and Resolutions.

Leave a Reply

