It’s a long road to recovery, but it’s a road.

Well my friends, going on daily mile shows me just how far I’ve fallen with this injury from my previous mileage.  While friends of mine are up to 60 miles a week I’m at around 4.  Looking at it discouraged me a bit I won’t lie, but then I remembered; It’s a long road to recovery, but it’s a road.  In that yeah it’s going to take me a while to get back to where I was, but I will get there.  And I have no choice, I’ve set some high goals for myself this coming running season.  Things like bettering my half-marathon time at Plattsburgh, running my first marathon in Lake Placid in the beginning of the summer.   Which, I’m very excited for because my mom will be with me for this race, hopefully cheering me on. 🙂  I want to better my sprint triathlon time by at least 10 minutes.  And then I want to try a longer distance triathlon.  All these things are goals I have for myself this year.  Along with having a better cross-country season next fall.

Truth time:  I’m not going to lie.  This injury although not as serious as my stress fracture this past summer/fall, has really thrown me in a rut.  I think it mostly had to do with the pain I was in.  I’ve never been in that kind of pain before and honestly it scared me to death.  I saw my whole running career down in the drain.  And it honestly put me into a bought of slight depression.  I’d kinda given up on my running and honestly I’m not gonna lie, instead of finding other ways to stay in shape, I slacked off.  Which pushed me farther down because I started to gain some weight, which made me feel worse.  Honestly, until now the only person who knew about how I felt was my good friend Ben.  And there’s only so much talking that’ll help. 

But, I’ve come to realize that how this injury affects me comes entirely from the attitude I deal with it.  And I’ve finally decided that enough is enough.  I’m not going to feel  sorry for myself anymore, I have Way too many goals for myself to sit around and mope.  I’ve started running again (Thank God!) and I’m doing my Insanity Abs with more fervour, and my physical therapy starts tomorrow. 

The Path to Recovery; although it doesn’t seem like much, I’ve bought more running books and training books to help me prepare for the upcoming season.  And I’ve started to get my life back into shape.  I’ve got a schedule planned out to keep my workouts on track and my school.  Also, I’m keeping track of my workouts, eating healthier again and just getting myself back on track.

So, once again; It’s a long road to recovery, but it’s a road.  So until later, TTFN.

2 thoughts on “It’s a long road to recovery, but it’s a road.

Leave a Reply

