It’s a Runner’s World

Ok, so we all know that there are random running inside jokes, sayings, and such that almost every runner knows.  I just thought it’d be a fun time to put some of them up there and the true life facts of running.  I’ll probably leave stuff out so if you think of something please comment and add it.  I think it’ll be interesting to see how many different things we can get up.  Let’s start with fun running/ cross- country sayings.

Sayings:

Our drinking team has a running problem.

I have only 1 speed, light speed.

Date a runner, we’re fast.

We go hard and long so we can score low.

Cross-country, because there is more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good looking.

If you ever dream of beating me, you’d better wake up and apologize.

We’re too XC for your sport.

Everything’s funner with a runner.

We can go for as long as you want.

We run so much our claves turned into cows.

I thought this was a great picture, because it is legit what I feel like a good portion of the time when I run. 😛  Especially when I’m in the gym on the stupid treadmill, does anyone else feel this way?

Anywho, I’ll now go into the you know you’re a runner when… type ideas.

You know you’re a runner when:

You can’t pop the blisters on your feet because the skin covering them is too calloused.

You don’t fit into your jeans anymore, not because of wait but because your legs have become too muscular.

You aren’t embarrassed to wear spandex.

You wear your running watch even when you aren’t running. (I’m guilty of this one).

And I could go on more, but I want this to be a compilation of multiple things.  Out of all things I’ve heard and had commented about to me being a runner, I think the one thing that bothers me is that everyone always says “You’re so lucky, you can eat whatever you want!” or “You’re so skinny, I’m so jealous.”  I want to be like; “People, I work out everyday, I eat pretty healthy because I like it and I need to.  I’m not miraculously skinny, I work at it.  And yes, I can have more leeway with what I eat than other people, but still….”   It’s just I feel like people don’t understand that while yeah sometimes it looks easy, running isn’t.   It’s like anything else, you have to put sweat (lots of sweat) and hard work into it.  Yeah we (runners) can eat a lot more, but we need the energy to help us workout.   So going off of that..

Do you have any interesting running tidbits?

Do you have people say certain things to you that annoy you?

That’s all for now, until later TTFN.

6 thoughts on “It’s a Runner’s World

  1. oh man, i kno wat u mean about getting annoyed with the whole “u’re a skinny runner thing!” it’s like there is a taboo to call someone fat but they can call us skinny and make fun of us all they want. i’ve had people yell at me while i’m running, “go eat!” and i’ve finally started yelling back, “dude, i could eat you under the table!!” 😛

Leave a Reply

