Let’s Talk About Mileage

Let’s face it, it’s a big topic when it comes to runners.  Mileage.  I’m going to go all cray cray and quote Jimmy Buffet from one of his songs; “We all got ’em, we all want ’em, what do we do with ’em?”  Well, I am not sure Mr. Buffet.  I mean we all track or mileage, some of us religiously (Um.. *cough* me), but what’s the point? We compare weekly mileage between our running friends and ourselves, between us and elites, between anyone and everyone under the sun.  I’ve heard numbers ranging from the 20, 50, 70, 88, 100, and 140 miles a week.  From beginners, to middle runners to the elites.  I mean I don’t know about everyone else but one of the many sites that I track my mileage on is Daily Mile and the tracker looks something like this:  

I mean what drives us?  What does it matter how much in a week we work out or run?  We constantly compare out mileage per week to those around us, but honestly Not all Mileage was created Equal.  I mean the elites train at such high mileage because it’s kinda their jobs and that’s how they stay in top performance shape.  I have friends who average around 60-70 miles a week.  And right now I’m averaging around 10+ miles a week.  But how do you know what’s right for you? I think a lot of people focus on what works really well for someone like Shalane Flanagan, Kara Goucher, or Ryan Hall. But really people we need to focus on ourselves.  And I know personally I operate best at about 40-50 miles a week.  I mean that’s the highest my mileage got before my stress fracture this past summer so honestly I don’t know if I could push it higher (and honestly I pushed it higher during the summer too fast and that’s why I go the stress fracture) and perform better,but that’s beside the point.  I can’t go off of someone else’s schedule I have to listen to my body.  I think too many of us forget that and try to follow some crazy that’s going at the moment. I’d like to leave you with a quote by a one Sir Roger Bannister and it goes something like this; ” You find out by trial and error what the optimal level of training is.  If I found I was training too hard, I would drop it back for a day or two.  I didn’t run for 5 days before the sub-four-minute mile.”   I just want everyone to think about that as we start moving towards the spring and racing season really starts to pick up. 

On another note……. MY GIANTS WON THE SUPER BOWL!!!!!!!!!!!  

I’m very excited if you can’t tell. I’m a huge Giants fan and was practically crying at the end of the game when the Patriots threw that serious Hail Mary.  It was a close game and for those of you who know me I had said it was, but I never doubted my boys for a second ;).  I still can’t believe it myself to be honest, but I guess I better :). 
Anywho, that’s all for now, until later TTFN.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Mileage

  1. I have raced off of 80+ miles per week and 20+ with cross training and had PRs doing both, so I really do think you have to figure out what works for you and at the particular time of your life.

  2. mileage is so individual to the person and the runner. it’s like u said a balance of quality and quantity as well as which race distance u’re going for. finally there is the all important issue or health/injuries and how many miles a person can get in without getting injured or hurt…cuz a hurt running isn’t running any miles. 😉

  3. Finding the right balance for your body is so crucial to happy running! Pushing your mileage to the point of injury means that mileage is going to nosedive, after all.

    Congrats on finding your happy place when it comes to mileage! (And on your team winning the Super Bowl!)

Leave a Reply

