I realize this might not make sense…

Happy Easter! Христос Воскрес! (Khrystos Voskres aka Christ is Risen!)- Воістину Воскресе (Voistynu Voskrese aka Indeed he is Risen!). As I said, I realize that this might not make sense to people.  I shall give you the cliff notes version:  I’m Russian Orthodox, there are only 5 things that are different from Orthodoxy and Catholicism, I could name them, but I don’t really feel like it- Sorry!  Anywho, we celebrate Easter after passover, and so our Easter doesn’t match up with Catholic Easter every year.  Last year it did, this year it is a week later.  Hence why I’m wishing everyone Happy Easter now.

Moving along, I shall explain all the things I would be doing right now if I was home for Easter instead of at school.  First off, I would’ve been with my family Saturday afternoon getting our basket blessed (the basket contains foods that you eat after church Saturday night- but I’ll get into that more later). Here is an example basket:

It usually contains: ham, kilbasa, hardboiled eggs, butter, homemade horseradish, cheese, bread, and other smaller slightly random things that differ depending upon the family’s traditions and such.

After basket blessing we would normally go back home and putt around until around 7 o’clock, when we would then go to bed.  I’d then take a nap till around 10ish.  Then we would go to church for 11 p.m.

Now the night service goes from 11 p.m to 2 a.m.  The Sunday morning service (usually for the people with kids) is at like 9-10 a.m.  The night service in my opinion is the most beautiful one we have all year. 

Let me break it down for you:  From 11-12 the lighting is dark, the music is sober because Jesus still hasn’t Risen from the dead, from 12 on it’s pretty much a giant party.  All the lights are on, the music is joyous, and everything moves much quicker.  The reason the service takes so long at night is due to all the Alleluia, Happy Easters, Christ is Risen and such. 

Once church is done, the real party starts……

After church we all go to our church hall to eat and drink and make merry.  I call it a party because for as long as I can remember I’ve drunk at this shindig.  Like since age 14 I’ve been drinking on this night, mind you responsibly, but still it’s an exciting experience for a 14-year-old whose been up for how many hours.  Anywho, after all these festivities we go home and sleep till like 11 and then go to my Granny’s for Easter dinner.

I am quite the sad face this year due to the fact that I’m stuck at school while all these Easter festivites are going on.  So I shall now go for a quick run, shower, make myself breakfast.  And then go to a meeting and do hw- wohoo! Happy Easter to me!  So I’ll now leave everyone with a nice: Христос Воскрес-
Справді воскрес!  Hope everyone has fun on this Sunday regardless of whether or not you are celebrating Easter like me.
So until later, TTFN.

2 thoughts on “I realize this might not make sense…

  1. Hello very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?I am glad to find numerous useful info here in the publish, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

