Getting back in the swing….

Ok I’m getting back in the saddle, er.. shoes? So my break ended up being longer than I wanted it to be, but honestlyI’m ok with it.  I’d rather take a little over 2 weeks off and have my foot be 100% than try to start running too early and screw it up more.  Especially since my marathon is coming up in a month.  Which, I also know that taking that long off has affected my stamina and endurance when it comes to my training, but I still think I made the right move.

In my opinion, if I can run my half, 15 minutes faster than the year before without doing a long run over 5 miles I can definitely do my marathon.  And yes I know that I definitely need a long run in the double digits.  However, I do know my body pretty well so I think that if I train like I planned, and work my butt off there isn’t a reason why I can’t finish my marathon.  I don’t need to set some sort of record for myself I just need to finish, it is my first marathon after all.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I get mad when people tell me how to train for things.  Especially my marathon, I mean if you’ve run one before and you want to give me advice, I’m all for it.  But if you haven’t run one before and you try to tell me how to train and discourage me I don’t particularly enjoy it.  Especially since I know my body better than anyone else.

That’s right, I said it.  Ok, maybe doctor’s know what’s wrong with my body better than I do sometimes, but I mean overall……….well, you know what I meant.  I don’t know that’s just my thought process.  Sorry for the rant-y type post but I just felt like it needed to be stated.  Plus, I just went on my 2nd run since my foot, and I felt good.  I mean yesterday I felt good, but died a little.  Today I didn’t even die a little so I’m considering that good.  I mean hey; My muscles know what to do.

So that’s it for now, Until later. TTFN.

2 thoughts on “Getting back in the swing….

  1. time off makes me grouchy too but if it’s a decision that is SMART and for a reason and i kno it’s for a good cause (avoid more injury) i bite the bullet too…lol. yea, i don’t like people who don’t know wat they are talking about telling me wat to do, but i do appreciate when there is someone who i trust and i know they know their stuff help answer questions for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

