Why yes it is a race.

So this is my bike.  I quite like it, but I didn’t always…………  In fact, I usually hate biking with an unholy passion.  Like legit.  But for some reason this past month or so I’ve really been getting in the biking grove which is good because it is leading right into triathlon season, but I digress….

Anywho, last year when I started biking and getting my toes wet with tri’s I hated biking.  It was my least favorite leg, I hated biking to get in shape for my races.  I hated it, once again, with an unholy passion. But recently I’ve started loving it.  For those days when its soooo nice out that I can’t sit inside,but I don’t want to run- I go for a ride.  It really clicked for me this past weekend when I went on a 7 mile bike ride around town.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s so beautiful to ride around up here at school or if I’m really just falling in love with it, but I’m not going to question it.

And yes, that is a race sticker from my tri last year that I never took off.  As you can see, I don’t lock it up.  I never do up at school, I have an unnatural ability to just trust it not to get stolen.  And so far so good, I’ll probably start locking it once it actually gets stolen.  But for now the only people who take it are my friends on late nights, when they are drunk and want some fun.  Considering I never know because I’m in bed and they tell me the next day I don’t see any harm in it.  Especially since they always put it back where they found it.  But then again, I digress…

With that being said I know I haven’t posted in a few days, but it’s been a little crazy with finals and packing.  However, I’m right on top of everything.  So much so because today and Thursday I dont’ have any finals all day so I have nothing to do.  So I’ve been packing my room very slowly.

My room is a tad cray cray right now with all of my stuff shoved in a corner so that I can still move around.  I’m happy because as I’ve been going through my stuff I’ve been getting rid of a lot and giving it to a charity collection or friends and such so I’m declutter my life a bit which is nice.  It’s the end of the year and its a little sad to go home and not really see my friends too much until next year, but it’ll be nice to have a change of pace.  I’m excited to go home and start working and making money.  But also to see some of my high school friends who I still keep in touch with.  We reconnect the most during the summers because we are able to run together again and get lunch and such nonsense. 

Also, I had a lovely run yesterday.  I ended up doing a little over 4 miles and it was a nice easy pace.  Towards the end I was running towards my school and on the other side of the road there was a runner running the same way.  At first I was behind him and then I slowly started catching up and finally I passed him.  As I passed him I looked at him and was kinda like; “Yes, this was a race.  And yes, I did just win.” Score.  It was a nice ego boost at the end of my run.  With that being said I have 3 1/2 weeks left until my marathon.  I’m both excited and nervous.  I have 3 goals for myself since this is my first marathon.  My goals are; 1. To finish, 2. To not walk at all during the whole race, and 3. To finish under 5 hours.  This last one is important to me because it’s usually around that time that the crew starts packing up and leaves.  I’d like to finish before they leave, kind of as a way to keep my dignity in tact. But other than that I don’t really have any other time goals.  I’m looking forward to running it for the experience and if I like it I’ll run it again next year. 

So I believe I have talked/written? myself out.  So until later, TTFN.

3 thoughts on “Why yes it is a race.

  1. Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of other folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

