The non-existant Taper.

Sooooooooooooooooo, you know how in marathon training schedules you’re supposed to taper……yeah……well I haven’t really done that.  I ended up running a total of 12 miles yesterday, not that impressive, but considering I’m supposed to be tapering right now, probably not the best.  But I’ve decided that I’m ok with it, I have more confidence going into this race having a few extra miles under my belt this week rather than not.  Besides, it’s not like I’ve learned my lesson because I ran with my friend Eric last night. 

This is my friend Eric, in the dark blue.  Well….er… this is more my friend Eric.

He’s kind of what people would call…..a champ.

His 5k is in the 15 minute zone, and mine is in the 25 minute zone.  So when we run together after a long time a part we have a tendency to… shall we say… forget?  How fast/slow the other is.  We ran 3.5 miles together yesterday and his “jog” is my race pace. 

Haha when I apologized for being so slow he said; “That’s ok I wanted to run slow today.” He’s nothing if not adorably honest.

Anywho, it was lovely catching up with him because we are  both busy.  He always gives me a good workout if nothing else when we run together and it was officially my last run of the week before Sunday.  So I wouldn’t want to spend it any other way besides running with my friend.  So that’s kinda it for now.  Countdown: 3 more days until Placid. 

So I’ll give you a final update tomorrow before a few days of radio silence.  So until later TTFN.

3 thoughts on “The non-existant Taper.

  1. BOOM BOOM BOOM…days ticking away and i’m super stoked for u!! hey, and it is always fun running with buddies, so how awesome u have ur super speedy eric to catch up on…and wrangle him into some ‘slower’ miles too. 🙂

  2. Can I just say what a relief to search out someone who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know how to deliver a problem to mild and make it important. Extra folks must read this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre no more widespread because you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

