I’m a Triathlete… there. I said it.

I’m a triathlete, yup that’s right I said it.  Whatcha gonna do about it? Nothing? Good!  I’ve been calling myself a runner for so long that its hard to give myself another exercise related title.  I mean running is easy, all I have to do is put my shoes on and get out there for a few miles.  But triathlon brings on a whole new brand of training.  It’s a 3 pronged race; swimming, biking, and running.  I mean everyone is stronger in 2 legs then all 3, but you have to put training into all 3.  That’s a different mindset for me, whose so used to training for 1 sport only.

Since, I first started last year, I’m finding that it’s not that difficult to train for 3 sports.  I mean it definitely takes up more time, there’s no doubt about that.  But oddly enough I don’t mind training more, I mean biking and I both have our good days and bad days.  But mostly, every day that I bike is a compromise day.  Because well, biking and I don’t exactly see eye to eye all the time. 

Anywho, I went to the CDTC (Capital District Triathlon Club) with my friend Christine again this Tuesday.  Let me just stop and say; Woman is ridiculously awesome to me, she feeds me, pays for me when I forget my money (I totally pay her back, but still) and puts up with me during training- I call her amazing!   Anywho, I did the open water swim again, 1 mile and my new PR for an open water swim is now 29:48! I took 23 seconds off of my time! I’m very excited. 

So let me break my swimming and running and training down for you.  I’ve come to realize certain things with my swimming thus far;

1. Bilateral breathing (breathing on opposite sides) definitely helps me go faster in the water, but on the one hand- straighter… debatable. I mean I probably swam straighter than last time, but I can’t really tell in the water.

2. I get distracted VERY easily. “Oh, hey look bubbles!” “Is that my arm?” “Is that a fish down there?” I especially love taking a quick breast stroke type break and having the lifeguards stare at me like I’m cray cray as I analyze other peoples’ swimming styles around me during the workout.  Oopsies!

3. The longer the swimming (or running) distance, the better my body does.  Swimming sprints+ me= no good.  Swimming distance+me= very good.  I feel more comfortable when I have time to really get into my groove, if that makes sense.

So anyways, those are some of the conclusions I came to while doing my mile swim in the lake.  Also, a storm came up while I was finishing.  The wind got so bad that I kept thinking that someone was drafting off of me and was splashing me.  I got so fed up that I turned around to look and it ended up being my kick splash hitting me in the face from the wind.   Oh and then there were the waves, not the kind of waves that are like ‘hey, let me help push you along’ No the kind of waves that are like ‘every way you turn to breath, I’m going to make sure you get water in the face’  After, I did a quick 3 mile loop and then we went home.  I liked to think of it as a productive night. And I’ve come to the realization that I am a triathlete. I may not be very good, but I thoroughly enjoy the sport and that’s all that really matters.

So until later, TTFN.

5 thoughts on “I’m a Triathlete… there. I said it.

Leave a Reply

