CDTC and the Weekend…Oooh bubbles!

So I’ve had a very cool weekend and an awesome time at the CDTC (Capital District Triathlon Club) this week.  And I’m growing more and more certain of the fact that I seem to have the attention span of a goldfish, a person with ADD, and a 5-year-old on a sugar high all rolled into one.  Anywho, this weekend (yes I know it’s almost the weekend again, deal)  I spent a lot of time at the beach, which was quite wonderful because I love the beach.  I played some volleyball, ate tons of food, ran a decent amount and oh yeah swam across the lake- nbd.  Yes, I indeed did swim across my lake; my brother and I went beach to beach.  As in the State campground to the town beach, I even have pictures to prove it!  So let me photobomb you real quick;

This is my brother and I SLOWLY wading into the water since it was a tad colder than we thought it was going to be.

Oh hey, did I mention I was a muscle woman now? Oh I didn’t?!? Well I am. Now you know. 

But seriously, by my brother and my combined times we guessed that the swim was a tad over a mile.  Not sure exactly how far, but definitely over a mile.  Oh and let me get some actions shots in;

That splash super far ahead? Yeah that’s my younger brother because he’s faster than I am.  On the plus side I was only 3 minutes behind him so I call that a win.  And why not a close up of my sexyness while I swim? 

So yeah, that was a super fun time. 
Ok moving onto this week’s CDTC.

It was really crowded at the Captial District Triathlon Club (CDTC) this week, however Christine told me that’s how it normally is.  Oh well, at least it will get me used to starts with a large number of people.  My main goal is and always will be; to not get kicked in the face.  And so far I’m terribly successful at it.  Anywho, Since I couldn’t start out as I normally do I figured I wouldn’t get a new open swim PR.  So I decided; Why not have some fun with it? 
So that’s what I did 🙂 

Story time!  We swim around in a circle 2x for a mile and the lifeguards sit in the middle watching us.  Well since Thomas (candid photo I stole off fb inserted here)  has been helping me improve my butterfly I thought why not give the lifeguards some sort of entertainment?  So I made sure I had my sighting and every time I came up next to a lifeguard I switched from freestyle to butterfly and as soon as I was passed them I switched back to freestyle like nothing happened…. until I hit the next lifeguard that is. 
Christine said she looked up to sight and saw someone doing butterfly.  And since well the CDTC is a triathlon training group she figured the only weirdo to do butterfly would be me. And she was right!

Anywho, it was a quite awesome swim if for nothing else than because I had a blast just doing whatever I wanted.  And hey guess what? I PR’d! I got 28:31, my new best time and a whole minute better than the week before.

So this week was the last week of swim lessons.  And it was a lot of  fun, a little aggravating because some kids made me want to punch them in the face, but also rewarding because I got some of my level 1’s to swim on their own which they’ve never done before.  So I was super proud of them, plus they’re ridiculously cute!

Ok so Thomas (seen above) has been quite nice to my obnoxious self in helping me improve my strokes.  He’s helped me with my starts, my butterfly, and others!  Him and my brother have been giving me tips, when I don’t ask and when I bug them continuously.  He even tightened my goggles for me which apparently was all I needed for them to not fill up with water when I did starts.  Oh well, quick lesson learned.  After he obnoxious pushed them into my face when we were in the middle of a race! But that’s besides the point.  But it brings me to my next point; I don’t suck!
Jake, Thomas, and I were racing our kids and we were doing 50s while they were doing 25s and I wasn’t that slow! My brother and Thomas both said I improved.  So I’m pretty happy.  My next step is to join the YMCA so that I can keep swimming until school starts and I’m able to get to that pool again.

So that’s it for now, I have to go.  My best friend Chelsea is flying in tonite to visit for a few days.  But you’ll get more on that after she leaves and probably a butt ton of pictures too!

So until later, TTFN.

5 thoughts on “CDTC and the Weekend…Oooh bubbles!

  1. Pingback: Mustle woman | Gilafoto

Leave a Reply

