You should be a model!

So I’m going to start off my saying thanks to everyone who reads my blog.  Honestly when I started it, it was more for myself (well it’s still mostly for myself… sorry y’all!), but the fact that people read and enjoy my blog makes me happy. Ok enough of the mushy stuff, let’s get on to my topic of the day…

Modeling.  We are bombarded by hundreds of pictures for ads everyday.  More often than not they contain people modeling the product.   Do we ever stop think about the message those people and those ads are sending?  I read an article today about the model Sara Ziff, who made a documentary about the ups and the downs of modeling.  I won’t pretend like I haven’t thought about it before, but some of the personal stories in this documentary really put a personal side the ‘faces’ of products.

My Story: I’ve always been on the skinny/tall side.  How people see me has usually revolved around sports.  Friends of my family who coach have always wanted me to play volleyball because of my height, or I’ve had the legs to hurdle, etc.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten a few more of the “You should be a model!” comments that I never usually take very seriously.

One day while working at my retail job, a woman told me to be a model and that I was beautiful.  I laughed it off and thanked her as per my usual.  But then she insisted for at least 10 minutes (mind you my boss was standing not 5 feet away) how I should quit my job model because I’d make more money and I had the body for it.  And honestly it’s not the first time I’ve heard such a comment and I feel like it won’t be the last.
I’ve always thought seriously about trying to model, especially last year I highly considered getting some pictures done and sending out portfolios.

But on the other side with so much scrutiny by friends (come on all women bitch about their weight to one another), family,and people who I don’t even know.  I’ve never been comfortable in my body.

If you look at my pictures, I’m always the awkward-dorky one.  For a cop party one of my sorority sisters and I took a picture together- she obviously is hot and can pull of the sex appeal, while I look like a dork.  Same with my librarian/barbarian party with another of my sisters.  She’s hot and I’m dorky.  I’ve always been the dorky, guy’s girl.  I’ve never been one to be able to do makeup well (99.9% of the time I just don’t wear any) and all through elementary, middle, up till high school I had no idea how to fashionably dress- in comparison to other girls my age.

It baffles me how simply because I’m tall and skinny; I’m beautiful and should be a model. I’m 5’9″ and between 135-140 lbs.  And while people consider me skinny, I don’t.  Under constant scrutiny and having people comment on my weight all the time regardless of whether or not someone is trying to be nice or not its a difficult thing.

I honestly still consider being a model sometime and maybe I’ll turn to it when I *fingers crossed* go to law school and need money to pay off my bills.  But until then I’m just trying to be as healthy as I can.

Either way I think everyone needs to watch Sara Ziff’s documentary ‘Picture Me’ to really understand the goings on behind the picture perfect world of modeling.

I’m not telling anyone to go be a model, don’t go be a model, feel the need to comfort me on my self image issues, or what not.  But I am saying- we need to start changing the way models are viewed because I think models are some of the most amazing women- they are under constant scrutiny and they have to deal with it 24/7.  

I’d love to see the male model perspective on this and see how they feel.  Either way, you can find the documentary on hulu and I suggest everyone does.

Until later, TTFN.

2 thoughts on “You should be a model!

  1. Sherlock Holmes: You’re wrong, you know? [Molly gasps in fright and spins round] You do count. You’ve always counted and I’ve always trusted you. But you were right. I’m not ok.

Leave a Reply

