I wanna be like Maggie.

This is going to be my running mantra I think for this whole next year- I want to be like Maggie.  Because its true, I do.  Alright, for those of you who don’t know me in real life I probably have some ‘splainin to do. 
This is Maggie:  me and maggie

She’s gorgeous isn’t she? Yup she’s the blonde short thing who gets me and herself into all sorts of trouble.  Funny Story; I met her the day I moved back in for pre-season.  I was picking my keys up from our University Police and she was too.  She was with her parents (she’s a freshman, but I try not to hold it against her) and her mom overheard that I was moving in early for xc and she proceed to tell me how Maggie was here for xc and Maggie introduce yourself and oh Maggie’s just so nervous.. and on and on.

Yeah, we became besties.  Haha I immediately texted a bunch of my friends on the team and was like I just met this new girl I love her! Haaha anyways, we’ve become fast friends.  And she’s never really thought of herself as a big runner, from what she’s told me anyways, but man does the girl kick some ass.  maggie and I finishing a race

Yeah that’s her, out kicking me to the finish of one of our xc races.  This girl works her butt off running and doesn’t even think she’s that good! Woman is nuts.

I both love and admire and resent Maggie.  Don’t get me wrong it’s not like I hate her or anything.  But you’ve got to understand, I’ve worked hard the past few years to become a better runner, I’ve dropped by 5k time from high school down 4 minutes, which is pretty damn good if you ask me.  I’ve run 2 half-marathons and a marathon.  But its difficult seeing a girl come into the season behind you in times, and suddenly kick you back to nowheresville by the end.  But don’t get me wrong it’s not exactly like she’s done it by coasting through or anything, she runs like 50+ mile weeks at school. 

It’s been a struggle for me to realize that she is better than me not because I don’t care or am not trying, but because she puts in more time to it than I do.  Which, I’m starting to realize all the places where I could’ve made the time this past semester and simply didn’t.  It’s hard for me to admit that I haven’t worked as hard as her because I love running and its easy to use being busy as an excuse, but I can’t use it as one anymore.  There’s a quote I like it goes something like this “All top runners wake up tired and go to be extremely tired.”  I’ve realized that if my training is something that I really want to commit to then I need to  Be like Maggie.

She’s a personal trainer and she’s being fantastic and creating a training plan for me, like the one she follows.  And then I’m going to tweak it to fit into my schedule (just when I can workout, etc.).  So that’s why I want to Be like Maggie.  I don’t want to use busyness as an excuse anymore, I want to commit and get even better in this next year. 

I have big plans for myself and I have some ideas I’ve been working on, which I will reveal later once I get things all ironed out in my head/on paper.  So my mantra for the year? Be. Like. Maggie.

If its importantThis is the new mindset I’m getting into, running is important to me.  No. More. Excuses.

Oh and in case I need a little extra motivation: no excuses

Haha I thought it was a funny picture anyways.

So that’s all I’ve really got to update you on/talk about right now.

So until later, TTFN.

5 thoughts on “I wanna be like Maggie.

  1. This is such a great way to motivate yourself! It’s hard having someone come in under you and all of a sudden start beating you. It happened to me in swimming and it ultimately led to me quitting (not the main reason, but it got to me mentally and I just went crazy). It sounds like you’re using Maggie to better yourself and that is fantastic. I’m sure she’d be proud to hear you say such wonderful things about her 🙂

  2. That’s a great mantra!! Also a good way to keep competition healthy. It’s good to have teammates pushing you to go harder, definitely my favorite part of having a team!

Leave a Reply

