East… I thought you said Weast…

Yes I took the title from a spongebob episode… sue me.  Anyways, this past week I started my internship with Assemblywoman Russell and it has been a blast thus far.  I only did 2 days this week because well the legislature doesn’t believe in work on Fridays (yay 3 day weekend!) and Tuesday was too busy of a day to get me started, so Wednesday and Thursday were my two days.   So I guess I’ll tell you everything!

First off, no I don’t just run around and get coffee.  I made copies of things thank you very much. 😛 But that’s seriously only 1 of the many things I do.  I also; answer the phone, check the mail, bring bills and such to the appropriate committees and offices, bring things to Addie while she’s in session on the Assembly floor, sit in the Assembly and listen to the debates, research, and a few other odds and ends.

Mainly I’m around Matt the only other person who works in the office.  He’s wicked nice, he just graduated from UAlbany and is going to UVL in the fall.  He’s been showing me around the past few days and basically I’ve been following him around like a puppy.. but on Thursday I got to run a few errands on my own.  Which is the reason for my title, I’m actually starting to be able to find my way around.  I’m pretty proud of myself.

Also, I’ve learned a valuable lesson, flats are my best option.  Heels look pretty but they hurt.  So I’m going to be judging my 1 day a week in which I will wear heels, every other day… flats.

I’m just learning so much about the legislature, and the ways everything work and just getting all this info.  Plus, Addie is really great! She generally is concerned about me, she asks if I have questions, she makes sure that I understand what’s going on. I just like her.  But I’ll talk about that more another day.  I’m going to go take some Nyquil and go to bed, I’ve been sick the past few days and I’m attempting to get as much rest as possible.

So until later, TTFN.

Leave a Reply

