Fake it until you make it

So my best friend tells me to “fake it until I make it”.  Meaning that I need to fake that I have all of the confidence even if I don’t and then eventually I will.  She was giving me the advice in relation to a guy, which is a whole other story.  But it got me thinking, that’s basically how you have to approach all of life.  You just have to fake it until you make it.  With law school, I act confident as shit so that people think that I know what I’m doing (I don’t).  With CrossFit I don’t have to fake it until I make it, I can suck badly and its totally cool because everyone sucks at something and yet at the same time I have people who will help me and cheer me on.  But what’s throwing me off at CrossFit currently is a guy, which is super annoying because its supposed to be my zen place.  But I’m worried about looking like too much of a spaz too try my best anymore, which is annoying me.  It probably doesn’t help that I’m watching ‘He’s just not that into you’ right now, but I digress…

Basically, I go twice a day to my gym.  On my second round, I get to see the night gang and they are all pretty awesome.  I’m having a Endurance WOD date with Gary on Tuesday, he’s a hilarious man.  But generally, my second round is my time, its my time to work on skill work and just get into the zone.  So what’s a good way to throw that off? By having said cute guy be there when I’m there and be there again on my Saturday when that’s my time to suck at Oly lifting and get better!!

Gah, I can’t handle this level of stress.   So what I think I’m going to do is, treat him like a girl.  Girls are easy to be around because I’m clearly not trying to impress them and get them to try to date me (that was super weird sounding), but I think the point has been made.  So basically I’m set on bs’ing my way through my first year of law school and hoping that I am able to make my goal of getting onto the Law Review and I’m going to not worry about a guy.  Instead I am going to work on becoming the most badass version of myself I can, which involves a lot of time at CrossFit!

So until later, TTFN.

Leave a Reply

